Division of Biomedical Research Workforce

NIH Training Advisory Committee Roster

NIH is made up of 27 Institutes and Centers, each with a specific research mission, and each with its own training representative(s) who can answer questions about training and career development programs. It’s a good idea to visit the websites below to learn more about program offerings, and contact the NIH training staff indicated to discuss strategies for training and career development. An initial inquiry via email is recommended so that NIH staff may identify relevant materials and set up a mutually convenient time to talk.

Institute/Center/Office

Role

Name

Phone *

E-mail

OD/DBRW

Chair

Dr. Kay Lund

301-451-4225

kay.lund@nih.gov

NICHD

Co-Chair

Dr. Dennis Twombly

301-451-3371

dtwombly@mail.nih.gov

OD/DBRW

Training Policy Officer

Dr. Henry Khachaturian

301-443-2613

hk11b@nih.gov

OD/DBRW

Policy & Evaluation Officer

Ms. Jennifer Sutton

301-435-2686

suttonj@mail.nih.gov

OD/DBRW

Workforce Diversity Officer

Ms. Lisa Evans

301-435-2689

evansl@od.nih.gov

OD/DBRW

Labor Economist

Dr. Silda Nikaj

301-594-4786

silda.nikaj@nih.gov

OD/DBRW

Program Assistant

Ms. Kristen Kirkham

301-443-2613

kristen.kirkham@nih.gov

OD/ORIP

Member

Dr. Harold Watson

301-435-0744

watsonh@mail.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Franziska Grieder

301-435-0746

Franziska.Grieder@nih.gov

NCI

Member

Dr. Ming Lei

240-276-5634

leim@mail.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Peter Ogunbiyi

301-496-8589

Ogunbiyi@mail.nih.gov

NEI

Member

Dr. Neeraj Agarwal

301-451-2020

agarwalnee@nei.nih.gov

Alternate

Ms. Monique Clark

301-451-2020

clarkmk@mail.nih.gov

NHLBI

Member

Dr. Helena Mishoe

301-451-5081

MishoeH@nhlbi.nih.gov

Alternate

Vacant

 

 

NHGRI

Member

Dr. Tina Gatlin

301-402-2851

Christine.gatlin@nih.gov

Alternate

Ms. Heather Junkins

301-402-0343

Junkinsh@mail.nih.gov

NIA

Member

Dr. Robin Barr

301-496-9322

barrr@mail.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Michael-David Kerns

301-402-7713

michael-david.kerns@nih.hhs.gov

NIAAA

Member

Ms. Lynn Morin

301-402-0176

lynn.morin@nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Troy Zarcone

585-490-2152

troy.zarcone.nih.gov

NIAID

Member

Dr. Shawn Gaillard

240-627-3857

GaillardL@niaid.nih.gov

Alternate

Ms. Diane Adger-Johnson

240-669-2924

Dadger@niaid.nih.gov

NIAMS

Member

Dr. Amanda Boyce

301-594-5585

boycea@mail.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Marie Mancini

301-594-5032

mancinim2@mail.nih.gov

NIBIB

Member

Dr. Richard Baird

301-435-6686

bairdri@mail.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Zeynep Erim

301-451-4797

erimz@mail.nih.gov

NICHD

Member

Dr. Dennis Twombly

301-451-3371

dtwombly@mail.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Susan Taymans

301-496-0962

taymanss@mail.nih.gov

NIDCD

Member

Dr. Alberto Rivera-Rentas

301-451-3245

riverara@nidcd.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Janet Cyr

301-402-6251

cyrj@mail.nih.gov

NIDCR

Member

Dr. Lynn King

301-594-5006

Lynn.king@nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Leslie Frieden

301-496-4263

friedenla@mail.nih.gov

NIDDK

Member

Dr. David Saslowsky

301-594-8876

david.saslowsky@nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Lisa Spain

301-451-9871

spainl@mail.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Arthur Castle

301-594-7719

castlea@mail.nih.gov

NIDA

Member

Dr. Michele Rankin

301-443-6071

rankinm@mail.nih.gov

Alternate

Vacant

 

 

NIEHS

Member

Dr. Carol Shreffler

919-541-1445

shreffl1@niehs.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Michael Humble

919-316-4621

humble@niehs.nih.gov

NIGMS

Member

Dr. Alison Gammie

301-594-3900

alison.gammie@nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Shiva Singh

301-594-3900

singhs@nigms.nih.gov

NIMH

Member

Dr. Nancy Desmond

301-443-3107

ndesmond@nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Mark Chavez

301-443-8942

ChavezM@mail.nih.gov

NIMHD

Member

Dr. Derrick Tabor

301-594-8950

tabord@nimhd.nih.gov

Alternate

Vacant

 

 

NINDS

Member

Dr. Stephen Korn

301-496-4188

korns@ninds.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Michelle Jones-London

301-451-7966

jonesmiche@ninds.nih.gov

NINR

Member

Dr. David Banks

301-496-9558

banksdh@mail.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Augie Diana

301-402-6423

augusto.diana@nih.gov

NLM

Member

Dr. Valerie Florance

301-496-4621

florancev@mail.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Jane Ye

301-594-4927

yej@mail.nlm.nih.gov

FIC

Member

Dr. Christine Jessup

301-496-1653

Christine.Jessup@nih.gov

Alternate

Vacant

 

 

NCCIH

Member

Dr. Lanay Mudd

301-594-9346

lanay.mudd@nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Julia Berzhanskaya

301-451-2569

julia.berzhanskaya@nih.gov

NCATS

Member

Dr. Carol Merchant

301-435-0790

merchantc@nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. David Wilde

301-435-0799

wilded@mail.nih.gov

CSR

Member

Dr. Mark Rubert

301-806-6596

rubertm@csr.nih.gov

Alternate

Dr. Michael Eissenstat

301-435-1722

eissenstatma@csr.nih.gov

OD/OER/DLR

Ex Officio

Dr. Ericka Boone

301-402-1640

boonee@mail.nih.gov

OD/OER/DCO

Ex Officio

Ms. Darlene Jackson

301-435-2801

DJ@od.nih.gov

OD/OER/ORIS

Ex Officio

Mr. Mike Goodman

301-435-1286

GoodmanM@od.nih.gov

OD/OER/eRA

Ex Officio

Ms. Scarlett Gibb

301-435-3435

Gibbs@mail.nih.gov

OD/COSWD

Ex Officio

Dr. Hannah Valantine

301-451-4296

Hannah.Valantine@nih.gov

OD/DPCPSI/OAR

Ex Officio

Vacant

 

 

OD/DPCPSI/OBSSR

Ex Officio

Vacant

 

 

OD/DPCPSI/ODS

Ex Officio

Vacant

 

 

OD/DPCPSI/ORWH

Ex Officio

Vacant

 

 

OD/DPCPSI/OSC

Ex Officio

Dr. Patricia Labosky

301-594-4863

laboskypa@od.nih.gov

OD/OIR/OITE

Ex Officio

Dr. Patricia Sokolove

301-402-3889

sokolovp@mail.nih.gov

CSR/DRR

Ex Officio

Dr. Sherry Stuesse

301-435-0715

stuesses@csr.nih.gov

OD/OIR/OITE

Ex Officio

Dr. Patricia Sokolove

301-402-3889

sokolovp@mail.nih.gov

EPMC

Ex Officio

Dr. Patricia Sokolove

301-402-3889

rb42h@nih.gov

PLC

Ex Officio

Dr. Terry Bishop

301-594-7726

BishopT@mail.nih.gov

PLC

Ex Officio

Dr. Paula Goodwin

301-496-9232

paula.goodwin@nih.gov

PLC

Ex Officio

Ms. Laura Moen

301-594-4748

moenl@niddk.nih.gov

RPC

Ex Officio

Dr. David Armstrong

301-443-3534

armstrda@csr.nih.gov

RPC

Ex Officio

Dr. Melissa Stick

301-496-8683

stickm@nidcd.nih.gov

GMAC

Ex Officio

Mr. Brian Albertini

301-594-6869

albertib@mail.nih.gov

GMAC

Ex Officio

Ms. Diana Rutberg

301-594-4798

rutbergd@nidcr.nih.gov

AHRQ

Liaison

Dr. Harry Kwon

301-427-1529

harry.kwon@ahrq.hhs.gov