decorative image
Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
decorative image
Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Division of Biomedical Research Workforce

NIH Extramural Research Training Representatives

NIH is made up of 27 Institutes and Centers each with a specific research agenda and its own training representative(s). We recommend visiting the Institute, Center, or Office website to learn about training opportunities in your research area of interest then contacting the NIH training staff listed below to discuss research programs and strategies for training and career development. An initial inquiry via email is recommended so that NIH staff may identify relevant materials and set up a mutually convenient time to talk.

IC/Website

NIH Training Staff

E-mail

NIH Office of Extramural Research (OER)

NIH Research Training and Career Development

Dr. Ericka Boone

ericka.boone@nih.gov

Ms. Lisa Evans

evansl@od.nih.gov

NIH Office of Research Infrastructure Programs (ORIP)

ORIP Career and Research Training Opportunities

Dr. Bruce Fuchs

fuchsb@od.nih.gov

Dr. Jennie Conroy

jennie.conroy@nih.gov

Dr. Franziska Grieder

franziska.grieder@nih.gov

Center for Scientific Review (CSR)

CSR Early Career Reviewer (ECR) Program

Dr. Mark Rubert

rubertm@csr.nih.gov

Dr. Lystranne Maynard-Smith

lystranne.maynard-smith@nih.gov

Fogarty International Center (FIC)

FIC Funding Opportunities

Dr. Christine Jessup

christine.jessup@nih.gov

Dr. Kathleen Michels

michelsk@ficod.fic.nih.gov

National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS)

NCATS Translational Science Education & Training

Dr. Carol Merchant

merchantc@nih.gov

Dr. David Wilde

wilded@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Mercedes Rubio

rubiome@mail.nih.gov

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)

NCCIH Training and Career Development Opportunities

Dr. Lanay Mudd

lanay.mudd@nih.gov

Dr. Melissa Trevino

melissa.trevino@nih.gov

Dr. Martina Schmidt

martina.schmidt@nih.gov

National Cancer Institute (NCI)

NCI Training

Dr. Alison Lin

linaj@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Oliver Bogler

oliver.bogler.nih.gov

National Eye Institute (NEI)

Training at NEI

Dr. Ashley Dash

ashley.dash@nih.gov

Dr. Neeraj Agarwal

agarwalnee@nei.nih.gov

National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)

NHGRI Careers and Training

Ms. Heather Colley

junkinsh@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Lucia Hindorff

lucia.hindorff@nih.gov

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

NHLBI Training and Career Development

Dr. Wayne Wang

wayne.wang2@nih.gov

Dr. Giuseppe Pintucci

giusepps.pintucci@nih.gov

National Institute on Aging (NIA)

NIA Training and Career Development

Dr. Maria Carranza

maria.carranza@nih.gov

Dr. Jamie Lahvic

jamie.lahvic@nih.gov

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

NIAAA Research Training and Career Development

Dr. Andras Orosz

orosza@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Lauren Early

lauren.early@nih.gov

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

NIAID Training and Career Development Grant Programs

Dr. Roya Kalantari

roya.kalantari@nih.gov

Ms. Diane Adger-Johnson

dadger@niaid.nih.gov

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)

NIAMS Types of Funding Mechanisms (Activity Codes)

Dr. Amanda Boyce

boycea@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Marisol Espinoza-Pintucci

marisol.espinoza-pintucci@nih.gov

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)

NIBIB Training and Careers

 Dr. Zeynep Erim

 erimz@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Joan Greve

joan.greve@nih.gov

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

NICHD Training and Career Development

Dr. Dennis Twombly

dtwombly@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Susan Taymans

taymanss@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

NIDA Training and Career Development Fellowships & Grants

Dr. Wilson Compton

wcompton@nida.nih.gov

Dr. Lindsey Friend

lindsey.friend@nih.gov

Dr. Albert Avila

aavila@nida.nih.gov

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)

NIDCD Research Training and Career Development

Dr. Alberto Rivera-Rentas

riverara@nidcd.nih.gov

Dr. Melissa Stick

melissa.stick@nih.gov

Dr. Janet Cyr

cyrj@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)

NIDCR Careers & Training 

Dr. Leslie Frieden

friedenla@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Olga Epifano

oolgae@nidcr.nih.gov

Dr. Diana Rutberg

diana.rutberg@nih.gov

 

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)

NIDDK Research Training & Career Development

Dr. Arthur Castle

castlea@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Tracy Rankin

rankint@niddk.nih.gov

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

NIEHS Training, Fellowship, and Career Awards

Dr. Carol Shreffler

shreffl1@niehs.nih.gov

Dr. Michael Humble

humble@niehs.nih.gov

 

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)

NIGMS Research Training

Dr. Alison Gammie

alison.gammie@nih.gov

Dr. Anissa Brown

anissa.brown@nih.gov

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

NIMH Contacts for Research Training and Career Development Programs

Dr. Ashlee Van’t Veer

ashlee.vantveer@nih.gov

Dr. Mark Chavez

chavezm@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD) 

NIMHD Training and Career Development Grant Programs

Dr. Richard Berzon

rick.berzon@nih.gov

Dr. Ligia Artiles

mhartilesl@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) 

NINDS Training & Career Development

Dr. Stephen Korn

korns@ninds.nih.gov

Dr. Michelle Jones-London

jonesmiche@ninds.nih.gov

Dr. Lauren Ullrich

lauren.ullrich@nih.gov

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

NINR Training Funding Opportunities

Dr. David Banks

banksdh@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Kristopher Bough

boughk@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Brian Albertini

albertib@mail.nih.gov

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

NLM Grant Programs 

Dr. Jan Li

jan.li@nih.gov

Dr. Jane Ye

yej@mail.nlm.nih.gov